Welcome to Ballina Bridge Congress page of Presidents


 Ballina Bridge Congress is an event that evolved from an idea our founding fathers had in the 1970s. The town held a Salmon Festival in July each year which attracted many visitors to the town; several of these from Northern Ireland. Aidan Cleary was living locally at the time, and on returning from a Bridge Congress in Clonmel in 1975 with a prize of a flitch of bacon, the idea of holding a congress in Ballina with salmon for prizes was born. Salmon were offered as prizes for many years until stocks of wild Moy salmon began to dwindle and the practice has now ceased. The Mixed Pairs competition on the Friday night is dedicated to the memory of a brilliant former Ballina Bridge player, Ias Kane, who was killed in a hit-and-run accident in the US in December 1954. Saturday's Congress Pairs is for the John Lowry trophy: John was a staunch member of the Congress Committee and a former treasurer and president, and won many trophies with his favourite partner, Anthony Kilcullen, both now deceased. On Saturday the Great National Hotel Ballina Intermediate Pairs Competition is held.



Ballina Bridge Congress


1970 +

1976 and 1977: Aidan Cleary

1978 Betty Gornley

1979 Jackie Carney




1980 +

1980 Peg Glacken

1981 Michael Mullen

1982 Breege Gallagher

1983 Ena McCorkell

1984 Joe Moran

1985 Kay Forde

1986 John Lowry

1987 Valerie McGeogh

1988 Josie Cawley

1989 Anne Freeman

1990 +

1990 Anthony Kilcullen

1991 Frances Walkin

1992 Tim Summerfield

1993 Jacqueline O'Toole

1994 Eithne Daly

1995 Mary Galvin

1996 Betty Gormley

1997 Vincent McMahon

1998 Marie Molloy

1999 Gráinne Bourke

2000 +

2000 Gráinne Bourke

2001 John Mulkearns

2002 Marie Fahy/Anne Freeman

2003 Marge Lennon

2004 Edna Bourke

2005 Mary Lowry

2006 Mary Mongan

2007 Christy McLoughlin

2008 Michael Walkin

2009 Mary Gilvarry

2010 +

2010 Gerard Moran

2011 Mary O'Dowd

2012 Helena Moran

2013 Úna Doyle

2014 Gerry Scanlon

2015 Gussie McEvilly

2016 Richard White

2017 Huey Daly

2018 Nuala Doyle